Help! I’m breaking out!

19 Mar

Check out our newest addition to the family!  The furry little thing that’s been keeping me mighty busy these days.  She is our 15 week old Portuguese Water Dog…Ruby…Image

Ruby is a sweet little doll, I just love her.  But unfortunately she has given us quite a few sleepless nights.  Well, those nights have caused havoc on my face, and my skin has been screaming “Please, Ruby, let them sleep, I just can’t take it anymore!”  While we all know sleep helps your skin, and gives you a fresh face to work with in the morning, I’m not exactly getting that lately.  So it’s on to plan B.

You always want a fresh, clean slate to apply makeup to.  Here are a couple of ways to help your skin stays clean and clear!

Step 1:  Wash your brushes

Oh!  I can’t stress this enough.  I wash mine once, sometimes twice a week, depending on the makeup products I’m using.  It’s a whole lot easier to clean your brushes, and ensure they’re product free, the more frequent you clean.  It’s easy too!  All you need is some baby shampoo.  Wet your brush and swirl it in the palm of your hand with some shampoo, until the water runs clear.  Lay your brush flat on the side of your sink to dry.  And that’s it!  This is a huge way to not only lessen the chance of clogging your pores, but a clean bush allows for easier, smoother makeup application.

Image

Step 2:  Every time you wash your face, use a clean, wash cloth.  Buy a bunch of inexpensive, white wash cloths to use daily.  Once you clean your face, use the cloth to pat dry your skin and toss it in the laundry.  Fellow Greek gal, Maria Menounos mentions how she rolls her wash cloths, and piles them up by her sink to give a nice spa feel.  I love that tip!

Step 3:  Clean your makeup products.  I am pretty neurotic when it comes to sanitizing my makeup products.  Even if it’s just you using your products, its good to go through your makeup bag, and give it a good Spring cleaning.  I use rubbing alcohol that’s 90% proof.  Adding this to a spray bottle, you can spray down your powder products.  Using a cotton ball, or tissue, you can wipe down all liquid/cream products.  As you go through this process, don’t forget about your eye lash curler.  Might be time for a new insert.

Happy cleaning!  And enjoy the results of a better makeup application and clearer skin!

One Response to “Help! I’m breaking out!”

  1. Michelle March 19, 2012 at 19:24 #

    Thanks, K! GREAT advice that I needed to hear right now! I can NOT seem to get my face to clear up. I am jealous for the day when my hormones finally settle down (no one ever tells you about the “after-math” that having a baby has on your body….it’s not easy! LOL). But in the meantime…I am betting that if I do the things you said, my face would be so much better than it is (take that stinkin’ hormones!!)!!

Leave a Reply

Welcome to my world of makeup! Fun with color, a touch of humor and something to inspire...

» Blog

Welcome to my world of makeup! Fun with color, a touch of humor and something to inspire...

Cornucopia

Welcome to my world of makeup! Fun with color, a touch of humor and something to inspire...

theartofbeautyweblog.wordpress.com/

We LOVE beauty, but are PASSIONATE about brushes!

Visit www.instabloggermom.com for new content

LEGOLAND California Insider, beauty product reviews, family fun, lifestyle, travel (wishful thinking) and gift guides.

lookandfeelfab

Helping People Look & Feel Fabulous. Creating alliances to reach a larger audience.

Finger Paint Makeup

Welcome to my world of makeup! Fun with color, a touch of humor and something to inspire...

