Photo Shoot Practice…This Was Fun

23 Jan

A comparison to a mad scientist is just about the perfect way to describe me in my bathroom, in front of the mirror, with makeup sprawled about. If you peaked around the corner of my bedroom, you’d probably see flashes of color shooting out the bathroom door in all directions, and bursts of randomness such as “OH, I’ve got it, the perfect color!!” Or “Aha! That’s it, I LOVE IT!”

I was preparing for a makeover for a photo shoot the other day, and tried a fun dramatic eye, very sculpted cheek and nude lips. Here’s how it all started out.

First…the base.

I applied coverage, including foudation, concealer and eye shadow primer. White, translucent powder was dusted under my lid to catch any ‘crumbs’ that fell while I applied the many shadows to my eyes.

The Before (don’t mind the powdered look…careful, it’s scary)

Next…liner.

I applied black liner in a jagged application to my upper and lower lash line. Using a very small smudge brush, I blended the liner as close to my lashes as possible.

And finally my favorite part…the shadows! This is where I literally ‘fall into’ it all. It’s when I truly paint my canvas. I started with a maroon sheen all over the lid, exaggerating the outer corner. I then applied a more intense maroon/brown sheen focusing on the crease and outer corner. This shadow was also added along my lower lash line, on top of the smudged black liner. I dipped my brush in a deep purple and a brown to deepen the crease. To add a fun contrast in color I added a lilac purple on the upper, inner corner and to deepen the outer crease corners, a swipe of black. Finally, for the finishing touch, I added gold to the inner corners of my eyes for a pop, a bone white to the brow bone, and black liner to my water line. Phew!

After applying a strong cheek bone and nude lip, this is what I came up with…

Annnnd if you continue scrolling, you’ll see how my bathroom ended up looking like…!? (of course, when I’m with a client, I’m much neater I promise!)

3 Responses to “Photo Shoot Practice…This Was Fun”

  1. Sarah January 23, 2012 at 18:42 #

    Love!! Wow, that eye makeup is spectacular!! I’m ready for my next makeover!! Amazing, Kris, that is stunning!

  2. Stephen Dimmick February 7, 2012 at 03:58 #

    Love this post sistah..

Leave a Reply

Welcome to my world of makeup! Fun with color, a touch of humor and something to inspire...

» Blog

Welcome to my world of makeup! Fun with color, a touch of humor and something to inspire...

Cornucopia

Welcome to my world of makeup! Fun with color, a touch of humor and something to inspire...

theartofbeautyweblog.wordpress.com/

We LOVE beauty, but are PASSIONATE about brushes!

Visit www.instabloggermom.com for new content

LEGOLAND California Insider, beauty product reviews, family fun, lifestyle, travel (wishful thinking) and gift guides.

lookandfeelfab

Helping People Look & Feel Fabulous. Creating alliances to reach a larger audience.

Finger Paint Makeup

Welcome to my world of makeup! Fun with color, a touch of humor and something to inspire...

