Everyone…meet Betty.

15 Aug

I decided to treat myself to a Starbucks latte.  “This is going to be a great start to my day.”  I thought to myself.  Little did I know, I’d get my coffee with a smile AND a compliment. 

As I approached the cash register and was about to blurt out my complicated, six-word order for what equates to a small iced latte….the sweet gal says to me “You have the best brow arch I have ever seen!  Who does your brows?” 

“Thank you so much!”  I said.  “I do them myself.”  I was completely shocked, because it has literally taken me months to get my brows to the shape they are in.  They are finally where I want them, and now its just a matter of maintenance.  Do I do them all by myself?  Well, maybe not entirely.

Everyone…meet Betty…

Betty is my pair of tweezers.  Not really sure how she got that name, it just seemed to suit her.  Keeping your brows in check is so important.  It’s like an instant lift for your eyes.  If you spend all your time on your eye makeup, it looks great, but your brows aren’t shaped right or cleaned up, it can make a big difference.  If you don’t wax, here are some tips from beauty.about.com that I found to be really helpful.  With some patience, and maybe a Betty by your side, you’ll get the brows you’ve always dreamed of.  Happy plucking…

  1. The biggest mistake people make is to tweeze too much.Avoid overplucking as it can take months for brows to grow back. Here’s a simple trick to remember: The space between your brows should be equal to, or a little wider than, your eyes. To find where your brow should go, take a long eyeshadow brush or pencil and hold it parallel to the side of your nose. Where the brush meets your brow is where your brow should begin.
  2. To find the end of your brow, extend the brush diagonally from your nostril, following the outside edge of your eye toward the brow. Where the inside edge of the brush hits is where your brow should end.
  3. The best brows have a slight arch. To find yours, hold the brush parallel to the outside edge of the colored part of your eye (the iris). Where the brush meets the brow is where the highest part of your brow should be.
  4. Cleanse your skin. Exfoliating with a gentle scrub, helps prep the area as well. Worried about pain? Expert aesthicians suggest applying to the brow Anbesol, Orajel or any teething gel for babies. Brush brows up and out.
  5. You’ll want to invest in a good pair of tweezers with a slanted edge.  You also want to make sure you’re near a window with light pouring in or under a bright light with a good mirror (magnifying mirrors are best, but be sure and flip it over to see your overall effect in the regular mirror).
  6. Make sure to pluck hairs in the direction they grow. Don’t grab too many hairs at a time. You can hold skin taut as you pluck.
  7. It’s a myth that brows should never be tweezed from above.You want both the bottoms and tops to be smooth. So be careful, but tweeze the top AND the bottom.
  8. Stop every few hairs to step back and look at the job you’re doing. If you overpluck, you’re stuck. Unlike most hairs on your body, your brows won’t always grow back once they’re yanked.
  9. Once you’re done plucking, you can apply aloe vera gel, which will calm the redness right away.
2 Responses to “Everyone…meet Betty.”

  1. Angelique August 16, 2011 at 03:46 #

    OMG Kris… Betty made your post…. HA HA HA HA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Betty’s twin is very popular at my household too…. LOL!!!!!

    • Finger Paint Makeup August 31, 2011 at 17:57 #

      Oh yes she did – I just love her. Got her from someone very special 😉

Leave a Reply

Welcome to my world of makeup! Fun with color, a touch of humor and something to inspire...

» Blog

Welcome to my world of makeup! Fun with color, a touch of humor and something to inspire...

Cornucopia

Welcome to my world of makeup! Fun with color, a touch of humor and something to inspire...

theartofbeautyweblog.wordpress.com/

We LOVE beauty, but are PASSIONATE about brushes!

Visit www.instabloggermom.com for new content

LEGOLAND California Insider, beauty product reviews, family fun, lifestyle, travel (wishful thinking) and gift guides.

lookandfeelfab

Helping People Look & Feel Fabulous. Creating alliances to reach a larger audience.

Finger Paint Makeup

Welcome to my world of makeup! Fun with color, a touch of humor and something to inspire...

